Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Easy walking day to Deba

    September 5, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    I challenged myself last night and slept in a top bunk. I was always afraid I would fall out. Luckily that was an unwarranted fear but I should have practiced getting out as I worried about putting my foot on the head of the elderly(, moreso than me even) man who was in the bottom bunk.
    I eventually just threw caution to the wind and managed to get off the bed and onto the floor without incident.
    I set out at 7, just as it was beginning to get bright. I had put my backpack outside to pack up so as not to wake anyone. I went inside to check my space and when I went back out eccentric English bloke was sitting beside my bag looking to me like a bloody stray dog. I thought this was your pack says he. Isaid 'goodbye', and headed out.
    The walk was beautiful, up and down hills, through woods and past farms and grapevines. I continue to pick and eat blackberries, which are mostly hard and sour. I wonder how many days I will do that before I learn to pass them by.
    The peaches here are big and sweet and juicy and best of all, cheap.
    I got to the hostel at 1.00 pm. 5 euro for the bunk. It is in the train station, second floor. I wonder how many trains will zip past at night.
    I had the menu del Dia for lunch, 11. 50 euro. Soup fresh salmon, flan and a bottle of wine. A bottle full, for just me! I maxed out at 2.5 glasses. I was taken aback that the salmon was on the bone. I immediately thought of Kathleen McElhinney, my friend in school in Glasgow
    Her dad chocked on a fishbone and died. I remember them carrying his coffin out of the flat and down to the church. I thought to myself ', I can eat that fish I might die like he did.' Well I didn't fall out of the bunk or choke on the fish. Big day all around. A swim, and then a walk about town, which took 5 mins. Now to find a bar to watch some football and eat some pinchos before bunk in in. Bottom this time.
    Read more