Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Guggenheim etc

    September 9, 2017 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 17 °C

    Rainy and cool so a good day for a bit of a rest and a walk about in Bilbao. It is nice. The museum is extra ordinary to look at but most of the modern art inside is either rubbish or I don't appreciate it. I am glad I went in, I even had to pay admission.
    I had more pinxtos and tzcoli for lunch. It is like a holiday every day here. Put something on a lump of bread, put a toothpick in it and have a few with wine. Easy and really delicious. 7.50 euro for three, with wine, makes it affordable. I go to the bar with confidence now. Awakened some dormant gene or other.
    I got on the tourist bus and got the layout of the city. A lot of hills and stairs. It is not so easy to have a wee chat with people as they bustle about or in today's case walk bent over in the driving rain. With a day to look around but I think San Sebastián has the edge. Hostels are great value and this one in Bilbao is rather chic, but the inhabitants still snore and have smelly feet.
    Read more