Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23–33

    Roma, day2

    September 19, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 73 °F

    The moment I booked my flight to come to Rome, I also booked myself a tour of the city by Vespa. I figured that it would be a great way to hit the big sites but also acquaint myself with the layout of the city for my coming week. What I didn't know was it was THE BEST way to cover a lot of ground with minimal contact with both vehicle and pedestrian traffic. I highly recommend doing this if you ever come.

    I hopped on a bicycle at 9am to arrive at our meeting point at 9.30. There were 2 other couples (sharing Vespas) and myself, riding with our tour guide. We began with circling around the Colosseum and making a quick stop by the Circo Maximo (Where Chariot races were once held). After that we wound up and down the 7 hills of the city while our guide pointed out important notes of architecture & notes on day to day culture. We stopped by the Trevi Fountain, Giardino degli Aranci, Janiculum Hill and Piazza Navona (all in photos). The information I received from our guide about the history of the city as well as details of how the city worked (neighborhood paths and tourist traffic) were a gem of knowledge to have on my trip. I can't recommend a tour by Vespa enough. I got to wonder and marvel at the scenery while in the trusted throttles of a local.
    The tour ended at 1pm at the Chiesa di Santa Maria ai Monti (beautiful church with Frescos from the 1500s) so I went in for a meditative sit, to de-stimulate and center myself before heading out to find some lunch in the thick crowds. It was the right move, I could feel the excitement of all the views, information about the city and chaos of Rome traffic settle to the bottom as I sat in silence and reverence for my experience.
    I was STARVING once I got up, having only a banana in the morning and an espresso at a pit stop. The crowds in this area were insane and I just wanted to leave the area but I was a 0 on my energy scale and quickly ducked into the 3rd pizza-by-the-slice shop that I saw. I got something loaded with tomato, zucchini, arugula and balsamic reduction. I asked for one slice and they grabbed one giant square, cut it into 4 regular square sizes and baked it. It was good, not great but I didn't care. I had sustenance!
    Now I was off to my long walk home. On my way, I couldn't help but dip into two thrift shops (clothing, shoes, handbags) and made a shoe purchase. I wandered thru alleyways, stopping at fountains and to marvel at details of architecture but I had to get back to rest. I had a string quartet concert that night!
    It was nice to get back to take a bath in the jet tub, yoga, do laundry and set it out to dry, unpack properly and take a small rest on the couch while I decided where to go to dinner on the way to my show.... and how to get there as it was almost an hour walk away, or 30min bike ride! But this is a Violin concert and I wanted to wear that long dress I had just gotten. So I called an Uber. Taking a car into the center of the city is pure madness.
    I arrived at Canova Tadolini, a spot I chose because it's just a half block away from my event AND it was known for being the studio location of baroque sculptors Canova & Tadolini. But that's what they're known for, NOT their Bolognese.

    Afterwards I walked over to my Vivaldi Strings concert at The All Saints Anglican Church and that was INCREDIBLE. I cried almost 3 times during that show just because of how beautiful the music and SPACE was. Arts was one of my main aims to experience while in Rome and I was feeling why now. Witnessing this level of art, INSIDE of more art shook my center to the surface of my being. These kinds of experiences remind me of who I am. I was alive again!

    I left this show on cloud 9 and ready to walk the hour home. On my way back, I ran into a fashion show happening in front of the Spanish Steps which was a lot of fun to watch even if high fashion isn't my thing. After that, I was right by Venchi Cioccolato e Gelato. Score! They treated me with a sample of their melted chocolate and I was in heaven. I collected myself a bag of chocolates and ordered a coffee gelato on a chocolate-filled cone. HEAVEN. I enjoyed this cone while I wandered the streets on my way back, taking in the opera singers in the streets on my way back, the live band in front of The Pantheon and later even more music in the small streets of Travestere.

    At this point, I was DONE walking and tied my long dress up into a knot and hopped onto an electric bike to get me the rest of the way home. This was a truly full day and evening in Roma and I slept like a baby!
    Read more