Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Roma, day 3

    September 27, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 79 °F

    I was so excited to wake up with no alarm today. No set plans, be wherever I want to be and when. I of course did some yoga in my beautiful flat before heading out to find myself a day in nature.
    I found a park a half hour walk away so I stopped into a cafe halfway omw there to enjoy some orange juice (always freshly squeezed!) And a delicious little muffin (stuffed with orange preserves).
    It's a much cooler day today, with doors of sprinkles but never quite rain. Lots of clouds but on the move quickly through the sky, exposing sunny-blue skies in small moments. I took my time, window shopping as I went and making a quick stop at a yummy smelling African cafe for lentil samosas and falafel 🤤
    Villa Doria Pamphlili Park was THE BEST surprise. I expected a park, a usual park. This place was miles of forest, grass, ancients fountains and statues amongst greenery, a church and a museum. I saw all kinds of people here, running, photographing, students gathered in study circles, parents watching their kids play, people reading or on a phone call or just wandering. I expected to be there for an hour but I was there for maybe 5! I stopped to read, grab gelato, photograph (seen here), and do some yoga, it was a magical day of nature reprieve.
    On my way home from the park, I decided to stop into a pub-style bar called Mad for Beer. I asked for an Italian-style IPA which went down to easy. I got a second and ordered a ceaser salad with it. Before I knew it, the pub filled up and they put on a football game, soccer, as I know it. It was an Italian club vs a Russian club and fans in the bar were heated. This was a fun experience to have by accident. I stayed until Italy made their first goal and was off. I had a phone call with one of the besties on my walk home which filled me with some life even though I was so weary from a day out.
    Just a block away from my flat, traffic pulled up all around me and I noticed that the streets were flooded! Preference we're getting really creative, making their own crossings, hiking up their pants or backtracking to not wade thru this river of.... sewer water? River water? Both? I knew this was not a normal occurrence as locals all around me were taking videos (me too) and we'd all giggle as we met eyes, traversing the lake-like puddles.
    At home, I took an Epsom salt bath in my hot tub fit for a queen before easily drifting off to my Roman dreams.
    Read more