Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 98

    EBC - Our last day

    December 6, 2019 in Nepal ⋅ ☁️ -17 °C

    We arrived in Gorekshep at around 3:30 but we were too tired to trek up kala patar to see views of Everest. We rested. my sister was also not feeling well. She had the chills and was really tired. It was not as cold in Gorekshep was we thought it would be. We hung out in the main dining room and chatted with people we had met along the trek. At around 8:00 my mom and I went outside to look at the stars over the mountains and took some photos. The people we had met got a really cool one of my mom and me. My sister was still not feeling well. She had about 6 people in the lodge looking after her and asking my dad what her symptoms were. We were told that she had a fever, even though she didn't but that she did not have any symptoms of altitude. We thought that maybe she wasn't feeling well because my parents had given her an adult dosage of diamox, a type of medication that helps with altitude symptoms. We all went to bed at around 9:00. We had one room with two beds, but it was pretty warm.

    During the middle of the night my dad wasn't feeling great and he decided that he was not able to hike up to EBC with me. I was really upset about that. Because the views of Everest are really good from kala patar, my parents decided that we would leave at 6:00 with all of us. My mom and I made it up to the first view point, however, my sister was not feeling really great, so my dad took her back to our room. When we got back to the lodge at 7:00 we had breakfast, but none of us was really hungry. My sister was still not feeling great.

    We headed out at 8:00 and started our descent down. It was much faster, except for my sister who was having to rest after only walking a little bit. One of the guides who had helped her warm up last night, offered to carry her backpack. However, when he noticed that she still couldn't walk very long, he carried her on his back all the way back to Lobouche, a two hour trek!! During the trek, neve got sick and had to rest when we got to Lobouche. Because she didn't have a lot of energy and had been sick, my parents were worried. They made the decision to call the insurance company to talk to a doctor to get some advice. The doctor they spoke too advised that Neve should be helicoptered to kathmandu to be checked out by a doctor. My parents kept debating whether they had made the right decision because they knew that being helicoptered out would mean the end of our trek. I was really upset as we still had 60 km to trek before getting back to Lukla. About two hours later, my parents received an email that a helicopter would be coming soon. They let my sister and I known that we would be leaving and ending our trek.

    The lodge owner walked us to the helipad and we were flown back to Kathmandu. Once we landed in Kathmandu, an ambulance arrived to take my sister to the hospital, where the doctor told her she had signs of mountain sickness and had to stay in the hospital overnight.
    Read more