Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 170

    Vintage clothing shopping in Taipei

    February 16, 2020 in Taiwan ⋅ 🌧 20 °C

    What to do when it’s a rainy day in Taipei - vintage clothes shopping, of course. I have to say, I have been overly impressed with the fashion since we started visiting South East Asian and Aisan countries. Everyone just seems to take care and dress really nicely. What better way to try and get some cool second hand/vintage clothing by visiting vintage clothing stores on a rainy Sunday. Finding vintage stores was a bit of a challenge as I soon discovered that the Taiwanese are not into vintage clothing and prefer to buy new clothes. I guess there is a bit of a stigma around buying gently used items of clothing. After reading several travel blogs, I found three vintage clothing stores: Blue Monday, Little Sparrow and Damn it! Vintage.

    I have to say, I was disappointed, but alas, such is the risk in visiting Vintage clothing stores. You aren’t always rewarded with finding that perfect on-of-kind item of clothing. Blue Monday was the best as it actually had women’s clothing, but in my opinion, was a bit pricey. Th other two vintage clothing stores, along with Mitty Vintage which we happened upon down a side street, were all geared towards men’s vintage clothing - lucky David! And when I say vintage, I mean straight out of the 80’s. Spending a rainy afternoon finding each of the stores was still fun, but I am definitely looking forward to a visit to Vintage Vogue in Yellowknife when we get back home.

    Clarinda
    Read more