Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 42

    Day 39 - Langres to Grandchamp

    May 29, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    The steep ascent into Langres, on the back of 30+ km, took everything out of me yesterday. But I woke renewed and refreshed this morning. Now, I'm cross and have to vent. I've walked through a large number of residential communities here in France. They all have a church and a Mairie (local government). Some have a bakery (only sells bread), and bigger places might have a Tabac (a bar where you can buy coffee, maybe a meal, tabaco products and lottery tickets, etc.) If you are really lucky, there will be an Epiceries (groceries). But they don't usually open before 10 am, are closed between 12 - 4 pm, are usually closed on Wednesday and the weekend. As you can imagine, I've really struggled to ensure I have something to eat as I'm walking during the day. All I need is some fruit and cheese; when I can get it. So, when I saw a supermarket on my map as I was walking today, I thought it would be worth the diversion. I get there; CLOSED. Yet another public holiday! The fourth this month! I now have one apple and some nuts to tide me over until I find the next source of food. I walked 38 km today - 8 of which was a total waste. On a side note: I have a whole new respect for King Henry IV! The amount of land that man controlled is seriously impressive. Oh, I got a brief stint of canal walking (Canal Entre Champagne et Bourgogne), I walked the entire length, and more, of the Lac de la Liez, a lake, some lovely forest walking and the usual country lanes and minor roads. P.S. I found out that the public holiday is for Pinkster (Pentecost), celebrated 6 weeks after Easter!Read more