Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 43

    Day 40 - Grandchamp to Champlitte

    May 30, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    After all my moaning and complaining; today was a perfect pilgrim day. As Bruce will say, along with many others, "The Camino provides." My accommodation last night was very special; a warm, welcoming and interesting host (Rene); excellent food; comfy bed; etc. - exactly what I needed. The walking today was pleasant and under 20 km! I saw my largest Roman bath to date, in Leffond, and tried to capture the white flowers blooming in the water plants in the Le Salon river. Along the Path, I met up with a young Italian woman, whom I'd met briefly yesterday, who finished up her work in the UK and is walking home via the Via Francigena! We separated, as she'd had a tough night camping and was taking a shortcut. That was just as well, as her pace far exceeds mine 😄. Further along, as I left the church in Leffond, a very nice woman approached me, and we had a lovely chat. Then, as I was leaving Leffond, a group of people called out to me and offered me a drink. My first instinct is to say "no thank you", BUT, as a pilgrim, I need to be open to all experiences, so I said, "Yes, please." Low and behold, there was another pilgrim with them, a Brit, they had also invited in as he was walking past! I spent the next hour and a half having a really lovely time chatting and drinking a couple of beers. As an Australian, I felt that obligation, LOL. Finally, Champlitte is beautiful, and the large chalet is now a museum. P.S. I should have mentioned that the supermarket here is open, and I've got my supplies for the next couple of days!!!!!!!Read more