Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 55

    Day 53 - Cossonay to Lausanne

    June 11, 2023 in Switzerland ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    The day started warm. Even at 5 a.m., I was quite comfortable sitting outside before the sun came up, with only my slides on and no jacket! I had a late start because it was Sunday (and breakfast is not served before 8 a.m.) and was grateful when the roadside walking, through farmland, changed to riverside walking (La Venoge). I got to Lake Geneva at 1:45 p.m. and got to walk almost 9 km along its shores. I don't know why, but I was surprised to see swans on the lake. I saw a terrific number of people today (the most I've seen this trip). There were loads of people all along the path today, walking, running, cycling - all getting out in nature on the weekend. Of course, being a beautiful, warm day (and the weekend), Lake Geneva was a big attraction. It was very hard to pick my photos today as I took so many. Note: My waymarkers are now a yellow diamond with a black border and are nowhere near as frequently as I would like. I have to refer to the app constantly! P.S. I look at those mountains and feel very intimidated. I weary today. P.S.S. the only downside was the SWARMS of midges or gnats that were all along the lake path!Read more