Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 56

    Day 54 - Lausanne to Vevey

    June 12, 2023 in Switzerland ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    Another warm sunny day and plenty of good walking. The day started with lakeside walking and evolved into 'above lake' walking through vineyards (white wine, I believe). I met heaps of people today: a lovely lady who has done the camino in Spain (she took the photo of me); a woman, originally from Canada, who's mum's came from Brisbane, and has lived in Switzerland since she was 15; and a really lovely couple from British Columbia, Kim and Crag (could be Craig, but pronounced "Crag"), who are dipping in and out of the VF. Again, it's very hard to select the photos as I have taken loads today, and there was so much beauty and so much to be in wonder of. I feel strong today. Yes, the mountains are intimidating, but after a pep talk from my daughter last night, I'm feeling strong and capable again. I'm tired, of course - walking all of today and most of yesterday on sealed surfaces has made my feet burn, but I'm not so sure now that the mountains will defeat me. Oh, and I had a small heart attack this afternoon as both of my credit cards were declined!!!!!! It appears that it was the machine at the hotel, as I was able to withdraw cash to pay, but I may have paid $156.00 up to 6 times - with all the failed attempts!!!! Oh, and I wasn't exaggerating about the midges/gnats, I managed to take a photo of a swarm as I set off this morning.Read more