Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Tall ships day 3

    July 28, 2023 in Scotland ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    Today was the last time I was on board the Statsraad Lehmkuhl. It was really quite sad to leave. I would have loved to continue on to Arendal and do more sailing. But the boat is fully booked.

    I packed my sleeping bag and put away my hammock. The Sail train Shetland trainees had to gather at Fort Charlotte for a group photo and an audience with HRH Princess Anne. We were able to stow our luggage in the classroom off the sail locker below the fore banjer.
    The Statsraad gang was the last ones to arrive. But we had plenty of time for group photos as well as in our ship groups. A couple of trainees were chosen from each ship to come forward to meet the princess. Jonathan was given this opportunity on behalf of the Shetlanders on board Eendracht.
    The rest of the group waited in the background.

    When the princess arrived we all clapped and watched on as she spoke to the trainees.

    I gave Jonathan a tour of statraad before finally leaving her for the last time. I'm going to miss her and the people I met. The whole experience still hasn't fully sunk in yet.
    Read more