Satelital
Mostrar en el mapa
  • Día 15

    lehmkuhl leaves, reflections on the trip

    30 de julio de 2023, Escocia ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    It's emotional to see statsraad preparing to set sail. A few other ships were still in the harbour last night after mist caused the parade of sail to be cancelled.
    I woke to the sound of a horn blowing. It wasn't lehmkuhl. But only an hour later I watched her leave, passing Sørlandet as she went out by Bressay lighthouse onwards to Arendal. Part of me wishes I was still on board. I definitely want to sail with her in the future.

    Looking back, I am very happy with how much I've achieved on this adventure!
    I was so anxious about the whole idea of living and working on a ship let alone cope with a such an unusual routine while living with Narcolepsy.
    Once I got on board and settled into the routine, to my own surprise I thrived and managed better than I ever expected. The shift pattern really worked for me and the adrenaline kept me going. I didn’t need as many daily naps as I usually would.
    I'm so glad I did this. Thanks also to sail training Shetland, your organising and to Lucy Morris my chaperone for being so well organised and encouraging.

    I've loved every second of it and met so many great people! I'll forever remember my time on board. Nothing is impossible!

    Fair winds Statsraad lehmkuhl!
    Go win the race to Arendal!
    Leer más