Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Burgos!

    September 24, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    Day 20 and 21 in Burgos - Arrived in Burgos at about 12 noon on a Friday. I had gotten a reservation for just one day at the Hotel Norte y Londres but begged the woman at check-in to find a way for me to stay here for 2 nights. She did and I was overjoyed! I loved Burgos from the get go. And the hotel, though simple and quite spartan, is right in the middle of the town center. I met up with friends for a fabulous vegan lunch and then headed over to the Cathedral with a friend.
    The Burgos Cathedral is the most stunningly beautiful cathedral I’ve ever seen. The massive structure is Spain’s oldest Gothic cathedral, the third largest in the country, and it has been listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1984. Despite that and it’s stunning beauty, apparently it remains a ‘hidden jewel’ in Spain’s northern region.
    I took a zillion photos and have posted a few here.
    Apparently Burgos' most famous resident was El Cid. He helped in the reconquest of Spain from Moorish hands - remember the film? He was born in Burgos and there are many sites connected with his life. In the main square of the city stands this statue.
    One set of friends including Purvi and Steve left this morning but I ran into a few others that I had gotten to know and had a really nice dinner with them. One of them was heading back to the US and gave me her sleeping bag. I hadn’t gotten around to buying one - and it’s gotten cold very suddenly. I think I’ll need it!
    I’ve posted a lot of photos and will caption them in the next day or so. Tomorrow I’m planning to walk 20 miles.
    Hope I make it!!
    Read more