Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Meseta Part - 1

    September 27, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    Days 22 to 24 (Castellanos de Castro, Boadilla del Camino, Villalcazar de Sirga) - the Camino is classified into three sections. The first tests (and may break) your physical well being, the second the mental and the third your spiritual. I am now at the start of the second phase and I can attest to the first. My knees were problematic right through phase 1. I would start off ok every morning but then go into a shuffle where I had to use my arms and the hiking poles to take the weight off my knees by early afternoon. Luckily I decided that I had to do something to fix them - and I did. Most mornings I get up early and do some stretches, muscle flossing (google it) and squats. Gradually the knees have improved, better every day. The last three days I’ve been on the meseta and I’ve walked 30, 29 and 18.5 km respectively with some ease. Today I found 18.5 kms easy and reached my destination at 1pm - really surprised myself.
    Everyone says the meseta is boring and difficult to traverse. I have found it to be quite ok so far. Each day I’ve started off at a fast pace for the first third and then dropped off to a slower pace. For example this morning I set off with these two Aussie guys - pilgrims, and went 10kms to Fromista at a very brisk pace to see the amazing Church of Saint Martin of Tours in Fromista and then have a second breakfast at a lovely little cafe in the church square before continuing on slower. Tomorrow I am walking with a Korean gentleman who I met at the local grocery store in Villacalzar de Sirga. He too is going to walk the 32 kms to Terradillos. Hope I make it!!
    As you can see from the photos - the towns, the churches, the countryside are starting to look similar. Perhaps this is why people get bored on the meseta. I have a few more days of this and will tell you how I feel as the days go on. I think I just love to walk, and hope that feeling stays with me.
    More next time!
    Read more