Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 48

    Santiago de Compostela!

    October 17, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 14 °C

    Day 43 - arrived in Santiago around noon yesterday. It rained almost constantly through the day. I had gotten messages from friends who had reached the previous day, asking for my ETA on “the plaza”. About half a dozen were there to greet me as I made my triumphant entry 🤪. After several photos we went to a bar and had beers. That night we celebrated with dinner in an upscale restaurant - a fabulous multi-course tasting menu with wine - that cost all of €35 per person.
    This morning I got up early again and got in line to receive my Compostela - a friend had told me that the first 10 in line get a free brunch at the Parador restaurant. So of course I had a fabulous free brunch.
    I received the Compostela along with the distance certificate that shows my mileage of 779 kms from SJPDP.
    So now I’m going to end this trip journal “Adventure on Camino Francis”. It seems to be a lifetime away from when I started on September 3rd from SJPDP. I have some time this week and next to process it in my mind. On Thursday I’m off to Finisterre - the end of the earth - a coastal town. I’ll walk from Finisterre to Muxia along the coast and then take a bus back to Santiago. Thank you for following me on this intense journey.
    More when we meet!!
    Read more