Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    An Impressive Nation

    August 27, 2016 in England ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    This is a rambly post so in summary:
    Westminster Abbey - amazing
    Greenwich with Caroline - amazing
    The Bodyguard - amazing

    I'm writing this in the hotel bar as I wait to leave for "The Bodyguard". I had originally intended to see a show last night as I am in the West End. I was so tired I didn't even consider it. It was an effort to go out for dinner.
    Why The Bodyguard? It was my favourite movie ever and ... Actually I chose it because the theatre is just up the road, I didn't have anything I really wanted to see and as I perused my options I thought a musical would be good. I could also buy my ticket as I got off the bus.

    I promise I won't buy a box of chocolates and rustle the papers (can someone please tell me which book that is from, I keep thinking The Ballet Family or Ballet Shoes). On a similar note I walked past Bloomsbury Square gardens and had an urge to dance. Rest assured I didn't.
    [Edit: No-one had boxed chocolates but they did bring their drinks and snacks it. I think I live in the wrong century.]

    I started the day at Westminster Abbey.
    Wow. The building is so old and so impressive. I could have done without the crowds but it was still manageable. I think my favourite (not sure that's the right word) graves were of Queen Mary and Queen Elizabeth I. They didn't get on in real life so bury them one on top of the other so they will be together in death. Mary Queen of Scots has her grave exactly on the other side of the Abbey to Elizabeth.
    The actual building is incredible, as are so many of those that I have seen.
    I've never really thought to much about England as a great nation. I know at one stage they controlled a large portion of the world (and indeed all my ancestors are British and Irish) but as an adult I've given more thought to those whose lands they colonized rather than how they did it.

    I met up with my friend Caroline today. We think it has probably been 13 years since we saw each other.
    She met me at Westminster Abbey and after my first cup of tea in England we headed to Greenwich, at Caroline's suggestion.
    The boat trip down was quite quick despite the long stops at several piers.

    After a lunch in the park, which was brown, no greenness here however England is in the middle of a heatwave we went to the National Maritime Museum. Apart from seeing the jacket Nelson was wearing when he was shot, complete with bullet hole we saw some of England's naval history. The boats were were feats of engineering and the paintings gave context.
    We also saw some of the amazing buildings.
    The painted hall and chapel were breathtaking.
    Unfortunately I just missed the last boat to the Thames barrier so just came back up the river.

    I'm now in a little Italian restaurant having dinner. The Bodyguard was amazing. I think it's the first musical I've since I saw Grease at the Burswood Dome in the 90s. I must go more often.

    I can't work out how to add comments to the photos so they are:
    Cloisters at Westminster Abbey
    My cup of tea
    The Painted Hall at Greenwich
    The organ in the Chapel at Greenwich
    Dominion Theatre
    Read more