Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Oh to be a royal Baravian

    September 1, 2016 in Germany ⋅ 🌙 14 °C

    I spent most of the day at Nymphenburg palace today. It was the summer home of Baravian rulers and would have been lovely to live there throughout summer. The buildings are opulent and I can't say the decore was generally to my taste but the grounds! They were so cool even though it was warm in the sun.

    Once I was done I made my way back to the English gardens. This time to the Surfer's wave. The bridge contruction over the Isar resulted in a permanent wave. The signs say it is only for experienced surfers but I am not sure how you become an experienced surfer in Munich. The gardens are so lovely. The spot were I was today had many people sunbathing and playing in the river.

    Lauguage mix up of the day: I had lunch at the palace. The kiosk by the restaurant was self service so I took a tray, lift the lid on a pot to see what was inside (hot potato salad?) I was severely told off by the woman behind the counter. Apparently self service is you take it to the table, not serve yourself from the kiosk.

    Photos:
    A stream at Nymphenburg, my favourite photo of the day.
    Inside the great hall
    Looking from the palace into the gardens
    The dog accommodation in the hunting lodge
    Surfer's wave
    Isar river in the english gardens
    Read more