Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Of transport and toilets

    September 13, 2016 in France ⋅ 🌙 22 °C

    I had a few plans for today, they didn't quite work out but the alternatives were good.

    I started the day out at The Market. It is a fresh food market with lots of fruit and veg, cheese and meat.
    All the chickens still had their feet and heads attached. I can understand the feet but do people cook the heads as well?
    They had raw milk and raw cream!
    All I bought was a nectarine but it was delicious.
    The range of onions they had was huge.

    It was here I had my first trouble with the toilet. I didn't have to pay, which is a first for me in France but there was no toilet seat. Why do they do this?
    I couldn't work out how to flush it. It looked like the button had its cover missing but no matter how much I pushed and jiggled - no result. In the end I took the top off the cistern to try pushing down directly. In the process of all of this I pulled up on the apparatus - success! Seriously you pull up on the button to flush.

    I had planned next to take a bus to a village not to far away. I eventually found what I thought was the bus stop, near a park so I sat in the park and waited and waited. The bus was there but no driver. I eventually gave up, bought an all day ticket for Dijon public transport and got on a tram (there are only two tram lines in Dujon). I stayed on the tram until the end if the line. I was hoping it was somewhere interesting but it appeared to be a commercial area. I got off the tram, waited for it to change tracks and got back on.
    I got off at Republic square and had some lunch, a ham and cheese roll from a food van and sat in the square.

    I decided to go out to Lake Kir, a manmade lake on the outskirts. After waiting for the bus on the wrong side of the road, I crossed the road to discover the bus didn't stop at that stop, watched it go round the corner, found the right stop and waited for the next bus I got on about 30 mins after I arrived at the first stop.

    There were about 3 stops alongside the lake according to google maps. I should have gotten off at the first stop, I didn't. So I stayed on the bus until most others got off so I got off too. I think it was a residental village so I crossed the road and waited for the bus to come back. I got a strange look from the bus driver.

    This time I got off at the correct stop.
    There is a small weir which was pretty.
    On reading the signs I noted there were toilets down by the beach. I hadn't been since the flushing debacle about 5 hours earlier (you needed to know that didn't you).
    The beach was fine dirt by a part of the lake that had some kind of net to keep the algae out. People were sunbaking but no one swimming.

    Anyway, to the toilets I went. Yeh, no. They were squat toilets. I'm too old and too inflexible to start using squat toilets. I didn't need to go that badly.

    I went for a walk around the lake and found the canal that runs past it. There was a lock there so I was able to have a look. I still don't understand properly how they work but it was cool to see one.

    Back to the hotel for a rest (I had to wait 20 minutes for the bus, having missed the previous one by 2 minutes)

    I had planned to go to the hotel's other restaurant but it turns out they have two restaurants and one menu.

    So back to the same square as Sunday night. This time I sat at a skewer restaurant.
    I had sausage skewers and then duck on a skewer. The servings were huge. There's no low carb here. Both courses came with potato and they also brought bread.
    Do Perth restaurants give out complimentary bread anymore? I've had it at each meal here.

    Tomorrow I head to Paris. I have mixed feelings about it. I've said all along I know God knows how many days I have, where I am won't change that but now I need to put that faith into practise. Untested faith is easy.

    About half an hour ago 4 people rode up on 3 motorbikes, all dressed in leather and with helmets on, revving their bikes as some do. I did watch them carefully, especially the passenger. Obviously nothing happened but with the arrest of a cell in Germany it does make you think.
    I'm self catering in Paris so I don't plan on going out much at night.

    Photos:
    Lock on Burgandy canal
    Live sea snails
    Onions!
    House in random little town the bus took me to.
    Lake Kir
    Beach at lake Kir
    Read more