Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Bloody Beck Hill, Lousy Hill Lane ...

    September 24, 2016 in England ⋅ 🌙 18 °C

    Just some of the roads I've driven on today.

    I started by checking out Goathland station, also known as Hogsmeade station. I think Grosmont is nicer.

    A short drive took me to Whitby. I was really surprised at how close it is. I started with a trip in the old lifeboat out of the harbour to a bouy in the ocean. So I've officially been out into the North Sea!

    There were a lot of families crabbing off the harbour walls. Most had little mesh bags with meat in them at the end of a hand line. Everyone seemed to be catching crabs with great regularity. They were quite small and the catching is for fun only, they throw them back.

    One if the guys on the lifeboat recommended a fish and chip shop for lunch. On the boat he was telling us as a kid they ate fish everyday and only had meat on Sundays, a bit different to mutton everyday with occasional fish for me growing up.

    The fish and chips was nice. I do find it amusing that peas are offerred/come with every meal in England. I turned down the peas, curry sauce and gravy. The tartare sauce was good though.

    Around the corner was the Captain Cook museum. There wasn't a lot of information there but it was interesting to see a shipmaster's house.

    Then up to the headland to Whitby Abbey. I do wonder what all these ruins would be like if Henry VII hadn't interfered. I am beginning to recognise the layout of an abbey now. The location is spectacular.

    Today was meant to include the whole North Yorkshire coast so Robin Hood's bay was next. It is at the top of a cliff. I tried to get down to the beach but came to a dead end about 2/3 the way down. There were lots of rocky pools and kids with nets looking for creatures.

    I could see Robin Hood's bay from Ravenscar, there isn't a lot there.

    Scarborough was interesting and I wish I could have spent much more time there. I could see signs of the magnificient spa town it must have been including a tramway and funicular to get from the top of the cliff to the beach. Robin Hood's bay could do with one of these!

    I headed back to Goathland while it was still light. Fortunately it was still light when I met a landrover on a single lane road while going uphill. I was the one who had to do the reversing.

    Tea was in the Goathland hotel (aka The Aidensfield Arms). I tried black pudding - okay but I was expecting a more salami style taste. The main of silverside of beef with yorkshire pudding produced roast beef, not what I would call silverside. It was nice with horseradish sauce.

    Photos
    Goathland station
    Whitby lighthouse
    Crab
    Whitby Abbey
    Robin Hood's bay
    Goathland Hotel
    Read more