Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 45

    Yorkshire Dales

    October 7, 2016 in England ⋅ ☀️ 11 °C

    As I didn't visit the dales on my way through Yorkshire earlier I went via them today on my way to the peak district.
    I didn't have anywhere specific in mind to visit, while researching places to go I came across Sedbergh, a "book town". Many of the shops along the main street sell books, apart from the charity bookshop the rest seemed to sell things other than books.
    The Sleepy Elephant sold vintage children's books and outdoor wear.
    I had a lovely time looking around, I bought two books - a hardback of The Chalet Gitls in Camp and a Bessie Marchant.
    Visits to other shops resulted in two more books.

    In Hawes I discovered the Wendsleydale Creamery. I was able to taste all sorts of cheeses. I had the restaurant's cheese lunch - three cheese rarebit, a cheese ploughman's platter and a ginger cheesecake. It was nice but a bit much really. I'm all cheesed out!
    They had a small museum which was intetesting and a viewing gallery to what the cheesemaking.

    By this time it was after 3pm so I headed off to Darley Dale, where I am staying. The route through the dales was beautiful, the bit around Manchester slow and frustrating.
    I'm staying in a country house, it's very nice. I was limited in accommodation for here and I made some savings with the accommodation in Fort William so being slightly over budget wasn't a problem.

    Photos
    Books!
    "Sleeping elephants", the hills behind Sedbergh
    Dales view
    Kitchen in Creamery Museum
    Cheesemaking
    Sunset in the dales
    Read more