Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 48

    The desination is worth the journey

    October 10, 2016 in Wales ⋅ 🌙 6 °C

    When I decided to stay longer in Scotland and not go to the Cotswolds I didn't consider what that would do to my journey from the Peak District to Wales. I made the journey longer by staying on the east side of the Peak District and then staying in the west of Wales.

    So most of the day was spent driving.
    I went via Stoke-on-Trent as I needed to find a shop to top up my mobile. Without a U.K. card I had to go into a store. That added about an hour to my trip but is done.

    Lunch was at a farm shop somewhere in Shropshire (I think). They had a little wire haired jack russell who came and inspected each person as they got out of their car.

    The drive down through Wales was very pretty.
    I am staying at Roch Castle, a 12th century castle in Pembrokeshire. The inside has been modernised but is very luxurious.

    Before I started my trip I had a lot of lists of things to see or experience in my head. A stay in a castle was on the accommodation list but I didn't think it was realistic. I was lucky Roch castle had a vacancy for my dates.

    Photos
    Roch Castle
    Jack Russell and friend from lunch
    First view of the Irish Sea
    Cardigan bay
    Roch Castle
    View from my window
    Read more