Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Glacier Express

    September 10, 2018 in Switzerland ⋅ 🌧 12 °C

    There isn’t a lot to say about today. It’s all about the pictures.
    The Glacier Express was stunning. It’s is the “slowest fast train in the world”. There wasn’t much fast about it. A lot of the line is single track so we pulled over quite a few times.
    It took just under 8 hours to go from St Moritz to Zermatt. We dropped down to 600m and at the highest were about 2000m.
    Most of the passengers in my car were Canadian, American or German. The guy sitting opposite me was German and his English was better than my German but only just.
    I started out sitting with my back to the direction of travel but there were some empty seats so I was able to move. At Chur we changed direction as we went back the way we came and that was only 2 hours in.
    It was a long day but very much worth it.
    Zermatt is a car free town I was picked up in an electric vehicle that was more or less an oversized golf cart.

    The pictures don’t do it justice, please forgive the glare/reflections, all the photos were taken through a window.
    Read more