Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Cow Parade and Interlaken

    September 15, 2018 in Switzerland ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    My last full day in Switzerland.
    I started the day of in Lauterbrunnen. There I found out the data on my phone had run out despite me paying an extra 20 CHF to extend the coverage from 10 days to a month. Given I had to go back the next day to get my phone to work after buying the sim and I paid cash I think the mobile company may not have received all (any?) of my payment. I’m just grateful that if I was ripped off it was only 20 CHF.

    Anyway I sorted that out. I was in Lauterbrunnen for the cow parade. Each year when the cows come down from the alpine meadows they parade through the town. Each herd from each alp comes down on a different day in each area so there are more parades next week.
    I regret not getting video as it was very noisy. The cow bells are huge but I’ve since found out they are special bells for the parade and they normally wear smaller bells.

    After that I went into Interlaken. Actually as a town it wasn’t that exciting. I was planning to take a boat trip but I missed the boat by about 20 mins and the next one wasn’t for another hour and a half plus it would take three hours so I’d be back in Wengen quite late.
    Instead I took the funicular up to Harder Kulm where I had a great view of the city and Jungfrau. The Eiger and Mönch were behind clouds though.
    Read more