Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Verdun

    September 11, 2021 in France ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    I visited Verdun today, the site of a famous Great War battle, mainly between French and German soldiers. I was treated with a 100km drive through the most amazing French countryside, with high Sunflowers and Corn cobs. The weather was perfect and as normal the roads were empty. I cruised along with the room down and felt totally relaxed. I stopped along the way in a small town called Mouzon as I was drawn to the church from the road. Thereafter lots of coincidental things happened no doubt guided by a higher power. Next to the Abbey, which is over 1000 years old, were two BMW z3s the same as mine with proud owners cleaning them. We swapped pictures and brief pleasantries although communication was a struggle. I then visited the Notre Dame Abbey, which was an amazing place with high ceilings and stained glass and many private prayer areas. I lit a candle for my mum, said a prayer or two for her and spent time contemplating life. The experience was very peaceful and healing, and I felt, meant to be. After a good hour in the village I moved on refreshed and at peace. The river Muese meanders through the area being one of the longest rivers in Europe and a canal also follows a similar route down to Verdun. I am hungry now so Verdun will wait until later!Read more