Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Chilling at Cranky Rock

    January 15, 2018 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    The temperature dropped dramatically during the night. The night before was pleasantly warm which had been a relief from the stifling heat of the previous night we spent at Goondiwindi. There had been so hot we had run the fans most of the night until the wind blew away some of the heat.

    By the time we arrived at Cranky Rock reserve most of the heat was dissipating with just a few hot breaths now and then. The overcast day had been reasonably comfortable. Last night though we felt a change. By nightfall the temperature had dropped to a very comfortable level.

    Getting ready for bed and I decided to close the windows and hatches a bit. Now it was cool enough to pull a sheet over me. A few hours later I woke up. I was getting just a bit cold. I closed the windows and wound the hatches to almost closed. It was getting quite a bit cooler. Cold enough in fact for me to unpack a doona for us both.

    The temperature inside the van probably fell to around 16-17 degrees. We were not expecting that.
    Read more