Satellite
Show on map
  • The Hill Near the Dam

    August 7, 2021 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    The Hill to the north of Corella dam has been calling. Not too long ago I would not have even attempted a walk like that. Now I am finding a few kays walk quite easy. As some of my readers know I have made significant changes to my health outlook.

    A few days ago, on a spur of the moment, I went about halfway up the spur towards the hill but had to quit the quest before I had gone all the way. I started late and forgot to take water. Wearing shorts was not ideal either.

    This time I was better prepared. Backpack with plenty of water, the sparrow packed and ready for action, good to go. The walk was easier than I expected with a distance of 2.3k return trip. I picked my way carefully up the hill through the boulders, following kangaroo tracks most of the way. Those guys are smart and follow reasonable grades. The tracks are quite well worn and easy to follow.

    Once at the top it turned out to be nice and calm so I launched the sparrow for a look around. A few minutes later after I snapped a few pictures and packed up, I headed back via a different path. The entire walk had taken just a little more than an hour, even with Kodak moments along the way and at the top.
    Read more