Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Rannoch Moor and Glencoe

    July 12, 2017 in Scotland ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    One of the objectives of my trip was to take a whole load of photos. Not just ordinary photos but 360 degree photos using Google Cardboard Camera app. This app allows you to view the photo as if you're stood in the middle of the scene and you can see all around you. There's sound too - it's like being there.

    So two things happened on this leg of the journey. Firstly I stopped every couple of miles to take photos. Even though the scenery is stunning here (some of the most beautiful I've ever seen) I've never actually stopped much along this stretch of the A82. It's very easy for me to get here and I've always been going further afield so wanted to carry on through, telling myself I would come back and stop here another time. Maybe this was the time. But stopping so often added more minutes to the travel plan than expected.

    Also, lacking discipline as this is my first trip and I know I have a lot to learn, I forgot to take many normal photos at all and all my pics were 360 degree ones. I've tried uploading the 360 photos here so they could potentially be viewed using the VR Headset, but alas they do not show proerly, so they will be for my own personal enjoyment.

    The other thing that added time was, once again, the sheer number of tourists. (I don't count myself as a tourist of course, although technically I am). I was constantly stuck behind cars, campers and coaches driving so slowly. Now there's nothing wrong with driving slowly and safely. But 25 in a 50 limit when there's still 150 miles to cover is not good. I think what drivers should realise about Scotland is that it is SO big and SO expansive that even driving at 50 you are not going to miss anything. Even at 50 you can be driving for quite a few minutes and the view only changes slightly from what it is. And then, boom! You drive around the next corner and it's even more beautiful and, like Romeo when he sees Juliet for the first time, you forget everything that's gone before because it's THIS time that you fall in love.
    Read more