Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Bugiri, Uganda

    January 11, 2023 in Uganda ⋅ 🌩️ 26 °C

    We will jump into the back of the car,
    Mandela and Nkosie and myself a bit of a squash.
    Mandela directs us to the home of the children. With a huge wall around it and a massive iron gate.
    The gates started to open and out popped this little faces all smiling. Has the gates opened to reveal the Home of the children, the first thing I saw were all these amazing quote written on chalkboards.
    Nkosie and Paula where then show the rabbits 🐇 that Mandela normally speakers about on club house. They have the rabbits to teach them responsibility. As Nkosie picked his up it started to jump around. Nkosie was so unsure. Mandela asked him to hold them by the ears to calm them. We then went to the main hall where all the children meet. Has I was walking there 3 boys ran up to meet me and dropped to there knees and the held out their hand to be shaken.
    This for me seeing the children drop to their knees just didn't seem right. I asked them to stand up. Mandela said it was a sign of respect.
    So I stand corrected.!

    So many shoes of the front of the hall, so I thought I was best I slipped mine off to. There was a massive cheer has o walked into the hall and there were 5 chairs prepared for us to sit on.
    Mandela calmed the children down who were so exited to see us. When they were all focused he then introduced me formally to the children and then asked them to do the same back.
    Has each child did this I gave them a high five. 20 mins past and we were still doing high fives....lol

    We settled back down again and Paula introduced us and then asked the children if there was anything that the children wanted to share. One you man put his hand up at the back of the room and stood up.
    None of us were prepared for what he was about to say next.
    Sir I won't to thank you for the cows you donated to us they saved my life 🤷‍♂️.
    My mother passed and my father passed and I was on the street begging for little food I could. I was beaten main time at night the street is not a safe place to be. I came across Mandela one day hold out my hands to ask for food. He looked down at me and said "boy where is your family" I told him they had passed and I had none. He put his hand on my head and said "do you anywhere to stay" no "then come.
    At this point I look across at Paula and Nkosie and they both had tears in their eyes.
    He took me in to the children home where I meant my now brothers and sisters. We had some cows arrive he asked me if I could look after them. I used to look after cows with my father. I wanted to take my own life many times but I used to speak to the cows and tell them my troubles. At this point that was me done I had tears rolling down my cheeks and the boy was wiping his away.
    Thank you God thank you Bother Mandela and thank you to the person that gave us the cows you saved my life. They are my friends
    Paula stood up in tears and walked to him trying not to step on any children. When she reached him she gave him a hug and he just melted into her.

    The young man asked us if we would like to go out to meet his cows. He explains later that one of the females out of the three had a calf. Now he know for sure to are pregnant and I believe the third one is again. The smile on his face says it all.
    We often can give a gift and we truly do not understand the impact that it will make. (Thanks Damion)

    We leave at 3pm to make away back to the original hotel to try and check in after the challenge of the night before when they had cancelled our rooms. It was my intent that they should pay the difference between the hotel they placed us in and the price of the one we were going to stay in for the next 5 days. Cut a long story short I decided to stay in the much more basic but friendlier hotel that we stayed in the night before.
    (First world problems)
    Read more