Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Chill Day, i think...!

    January 14, 2023 in Uganda ⋅ 🌩️ 27 °C

    Time is passing so quickly. It seems when you arrive the first few days are slow and the it goes so fast the last few.
    Today we have nothing planned only that the children have a wish to dance and sing for us. We left the children making traditional costumes yesterday with banana trees.
    Today as we enter the children's home some of them have their outfits on.
    The children have prepared seats for us and as we take our seats the music starts. They are going to perform 7 traditional dances from all of the regions in the area.
    The next 3 hours yes I did say 3 hours went so quickly as we watched these amazing children perform their hearts out to us. We were also asked to get involved. My worst nightmare..!
    But when I'm Rome. When is Muma Debs when you need her.!

    There were to young boys that were incredibly doing their belly dancing and they were give the task to teach a 50 year European man to dance. With me all ready to put my best foot forward I wriggled my hips like I have never wriggled them before and the joy and laughter that came from the children in the most part and the Uganda team was beautiful to listen to so I wriggled them some more.
    After a wonderful but exhausting 3hrs. Mandela suggested we go out on to the plan-field to play football with the new balls we had brought. The kids kept shout my name and soon it became obvious that they wanted me to play. Really..!
    Nkosie was the captain of one team and I the other. Now at this point I would just like to point out that Nkosie is 20 years my junior and incredible fit. So anyone that was going to be on my team certainly were going to have a disadvantage.
    Teams picked and we were straight into it. I was please that my team wasn't playing in skins and it was Nkosie and his side that had to take of their shirts and not me....lol
    The game ended at 3 -3 all I can say is thank you to the young men on my side for putting in a 110%.
    When I came of Paula hand arrived back from getting us some water. She said, "you make a good ref".
    Really..! 🙄

    We were now making our way back to the home of the children when one of Mandela's friend turn up on a board-board motorbike. Mandela stood chatting to him and then he asked us if we would like a go. Now at 53 I know it's hard to believe but I have never been on a motorbike and it is on my bucket list.
    Maybe not quite sandwiched between the driver and Nkosie but he really wanted to go one two.
    With me secured in the middle we were taken of around the plan field with the children screaming.
    I arrived safely back. Please no won tell my Mum I didn't wear a crash helmet.
    With the day closing to an end we left the home of these beautiful children with huge smiles on our faces and theirs.
    We arrived back at the hotel where we were staying and and took our showers and then went down to the restaurant. The hotel team were all waiting patiently to hear how our day went and what we got up to. We place our orders and awaited for our food to arrive. Nkosie had ordered a stir fry Chinese style fish. It arrive and his eyes were a picture. There lay in front of him this huge whole fish with vegetables on it.
    There is something to be said about not having anything planned in a day and just let it take you where ever it chooses.
    Read more