Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    War Remnants Museum - HCMC

    July 26, 2017 in Vietnam ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    Today we went to the war remnants museum. It has three floors and two outdoor displays. It was incredibly informative and has given me a whole new appreciation for the struggle of the Vietnamese people, but it was also very upsetting. I had heard of agent orange but never truly understand the effect it had on Vietnam until seeing this exhibit. What struck me the most was a little girl born the same year as me who was had life debilitating disabilities that I have never seen the likes of. She was a third generation victim of agent orange. There was also a very physically and mentally disabled boy born in the late 2000s who was a fourth generation victim of agent orange. So far in Vietnam there have been 2000 cases of fourth generation victims with severe disabilities documented. As hard as it was to read their stories I think it is important to know and understand what happened so the same cannot be allowed to happen again .Read more