Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Hadrian's Wall, Northumberland

    May 16, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    Suzie - Ever since I studied Roman Britain in year 12 History and was introduced to the various tribes and the subsequent 400 year Roman occupation of Britain, I have wanted to go to Hadrian's Wall, dating from AD 122. Today finally the day came for me to see it in person 😀😀😀😀 It was spectacular and I even got to walk on the wall on a public track 😀😀😀

    This was all at Housesteads Roman Fort or Vercovicum to give it's Roman name. It dates from AD 124 and was finished 10 years later. You could pay £10 to go explore the ruins of the fort or you could continue up the hill and go to the wall. I chose the latter.

    We visited the nearby Milecastle 37, which was a Roman mile away from Housesteads. Every Roman mile there was a smaller fort of 25-30 soliders to guard against any marauding barbarians, meaning Scots. Housesteads had 800 auxillary soliders.
    Read more