Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Back in Brisbane

    May 31, 2023 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 5 °C

    Nik and I are back in Brisbane after 4 and a half weeks away!! What a amazing trip!! During the 14 hour trip back from Dubai to Brisbane, I binged watched series 1 of Mayfair Witches, found the history channel, found a new reality cooking show with Gordon Ramsay that I'm now invested in and I'm so glad to be home.

    I've packed all my stuff away, one load of washing is on the line and another load in the wash now. I feel accomplished but oh so tired!!

    Trev and Vicky met us at arrivals and it was so good to see them and of course I bawled! Aijā went to his new home with Vicky and I miss him already!!

    I'm trying to hold out for sleep until tonight but it's not looking good!! Oh well!!

    It was a fantastic trip, UK was brilliant and so were we!! Onto planning the next trip!! Hahahaha!!

    Nik - The flight home was long. I didn't think I slept at all but Suzie said I did doze off at one point. I watched the last few Harry Potter movies on the way back. The flight crew on both legs home were not great. On the way to the UK they were great though, so I don't know what it was.

    Suzie said she spoke to someone on the plane that said they lost an item on the way through security, just the same way I didn on the way over. There is a scam going on there.

    So wonderful to hug the boys, be in our home, though it also feels strange to be back here too.

    And that is the end of the trip I guess. What an epic journey for my first trip overseas.
    - I've stood in the presence of structures so old the mind boggles.
    - I've walked in the steps of historical people and wondered at their lives. I've admired their strength to fight for what they believe in and been horrified at the cruelty humans have shown their fellows. - And I partied at the biggest, most extravagant party of the year.

    I've done and seen things that in all honesty, I never thought I would. Those places, those memories are a part of me now and I am so very grateful to have the privilege to have this experience.

    It's true what they say how travel changes you. 🛫🌏🛬
    Read more