Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Dubai to Brisbane

    May 30, 2023 in the United Arab Emirates ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    Suzie - What I'm about to write is my experience only. I do not speak for Nik or anyone else's experience in the UAE or Dubai.

    I may edit this later, but I really don't like Dubai. This morning I've been spoken to disgustingly, yelled at, herded into passport control and all Nik wants to do is hold my hand and all I want to do is cry.

    The 'smart' gates here didn't read my passport properly even after I took off my glasses and this guy was yelling at me, telling me 'it's not working for you' to which I replied 'obviously' and told me to go 'over there'. I was starting to get upset at this point and asked where 'over there' was. I may have muttered how much I don't like this country and he started yelling at me again 'What did you say? What did you say?'. I eventually got through, found Nik who had gone ahead, then to security which beeped at me due to my bracelets and then to gate A22. I remember this gate - I went from here to Dublin 5 years ago; it's right opposite the smoking lounge as if I didn't feel sick enough already.

    At this point, I am never flying Emirates again. I am never stopping off in Dubai again. I'm sick and tired. And done.

    Nik - Took me forever to get to sleep after such a late dinner last night and how on edge I was after our ordeal making our way through the airport yesterday. I did manage to get 3 or 4 hours sleep through.

    Then came the ordeal back to the airport. More of the same, though it was a faster experience than our arrival here, even with Suzie's issue getting through security.

    Unfortunately the gate we have to wait at (A22) is directly opposite a smoking room. The smoke is wafting out as the doors open and close. No doubt my hair and clothes will stink of tobacco for the flight home. Nice. 🤮)

    We're both on edge. Uncomfortable in a place which, to me at least, seems unfriendly to foreign women. (Or is it just foreign women traveling without a male? Not sure to be honest.) All I want to do is reach out and take Suzie's hand. Have that connection between us to reassure us both.

    (And I say all that and then I wonder if I'm the one in the wrong. If it's my prejudice and preconceived ideas coming through. And then I feel bad. But at the end of the day, I'm stressed and uncomfortable.

    It's a sour note to end our holiday on.

    Suzie's gone to get some reflexology done. Hope it makes her feel better. I might do the same once we get home. Help to finish our break off on a better note.
    Read more