Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Back to Metro

    May 26, 2023 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 17 °C

    Today I started the day with a walking tour beginning at the Capitol building. The guides name was Anthony (I cannot escape Toni/ys it seems) and people from Texas, Pittsburgh, New England, Old England, New York, Minnesota. It was actually so nice to chat with people and find out where they were from. We toured around Denver for over 2 hours. It was nice to hear some stories and facts about all the main spots which I'd seen before. One cool story at the Mint was seeing how each US coin has a tiny letter so you can see where in the country it was minted. There was also a story about the eagle on top of the Denver city building looking like it was "pooping" as a protest of the government by its creator. This was such a widely spread story that the city commissioned an ecologist to watch eagles poop to see if it was the same as the sculpture. Turns out they were just paranoid, the eagle isn't in a "pooping" stance.
    After that I walked back to visit the University I went to, Metro State. I walked past the old courts I trained on and through the building we used to spend heaps of time in. Interestingly, I felt a sense of dread and anxiety being back. I guess the good, the bad and the ugly memories came flooding back!
    I had lunch at the brewery, the Tivoli which is on campus. I had this massive burger and a beer which students from the Uni have helped brew. I then caught up with Eric, who is the media guy at Metro and has interviewed me countless times. It was great to see what he is up to and talk about life.
    Then I came home and started to pack my stuff up as I leave on Sunday to go with Kendra for her wedding week!
    Being a tightass, I bought a microwaved meal and will eat leftover cheesecake for dessert!
    I'm very excited to be able to watch the Formula One in a decent time zone tomorrow and Sunday as well!
    Read more