Satelita
Pokaż na mapie
  • Dzień 72

    Olà México

    14 grudnia 2023, Meksyk ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    Greetings from Mexico 🇲🇽 - the land of the Maya and sombreros as well as mariachi, salsa and tequila 😅

    I can't wait to see what awaits me here. However, immediately after landing 🛬 at Mexico City International Airport, I experienced my first culture shock: I knew that the last few weeks in Japan had been characterised by perfection and punctuality and that I couldn't apply the same standards 📏 elsewhere.
    But I didn't think that I would have to wait 45 minutes at baggage reclaim 🛄 and watch as the suitcases only sporadically made their way onto the conveyor belt. As I found out later, the employee responsible for transporting the suitcases was often distracted because he was texting during his work. 🤦‍♂️
    But the best was yet to come: at some point, baggage reclaim was finished over - no sign of my luggage, but no sign of many other people's luggage either. 😮 There was general confusion. Nobody knew anything. So we queued at Lost & Found. Great - it was only half past one in the morning and with 50 other parties in the queue - how long can it take? 😅
    Luckily, a lorry 🚛 full of suitcases from Vancouver turned up after a short time. It was then unloaded on another conveyor belt and lo and behold - my backpack 🎒 was there too. Lucky for me! After all, my plan was to fly to Oaxaca in the afternoon of the same day. ✈️ I doubt that they would have delivered my luggage there.
    From the airport, I took the shuttle to the We Aeropuerto Hotel. 🏨 At 2.30 am I was finally in my oversized hotel room. After 6 weeks in Japan, everything suddenly seems so monstrously big. 😂
    I could only sleep for a little while on the plane (maybe an hour or so) and not at all at the airport in Vancouver. 😴
    So after my 24-hour journey from Japan, I was suitably exhausted and immediately fell into a deep, restful sleep. 🛏️ Fortunately, the time difference between Japan (GMT -9 hours) and Mexico (GMT +6 hours) means I hardly have to change my daily rhythm. 😊

    The next morning I travelled straight on to Oaxaca. My Hostel here seems to be quite nice and cozy and they have daily activities. For example, today is cocktail night 🍸
    The last few days have been a bit much of travelling 😩 I stay here for 2 nights but if I like it in Oaxaca, I'll definitely extend my stay a little before heading east and south from here in the coming weeks; at first overland through the Chiapas and Yucatan regions and then to Belize. At least that's the current plan. 😎
    Czytaj więcej