Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Milano Day 1

    July 4, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    Travel day 🤮🤮 woke up after like 2.5 hours of sleep and got a ride from Slaylister (Ailish’s dad) to the train station in which I mentally prepared for the next 8 hours, and 1.5 months for that matter. I took the TGV (speedy train) from Avignon to Lyon (1 hour), then a train from Lyon to Genève (2 hours), and lastly a train from Genève to Milano (5 hours). You know, they charge you to use the bathroom at the train stations?! I paid €1 to use the toilet. Once I got on that last train, it was so nice, for about 4/5 hours of the last train, nobody was sitting next to me, so I had spaaaace, but a lovely old man did sit next to me for the last hour but he was very sweet. But oh boy, the views on the last train ride was to DIE FOR!!!! The train ran in between the mountains, so the views were insaaaaane!! There are lots of pictures included.
    Once I actually arrived in Milan, it was hot, really hot. Being me, I didn’t feel like paying for transit so I toughed out the 22 minute walk to my hostel, where my back soon became drenched in sweat. After a nice shower, I went to get some pizza and sat in the park with my hostelmate, Joanne, who is an about-to-be-policewoman from Hamburg, Germany. We got eaten alive by mosquitoes, and then went to get a drink at a cute outdoor seating restaurant, where I tried a hugo spritz. We walked around for a bit then went home for the night, im POOPED!!!! Now it’s raining, lighting, and thunderstormy out😵‍💫
    Read more