Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Milano Day 2

    July 5, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    31,000 steps today. Enough said. I walked and walked and walked and sightsaw and did all the things today! One thing about Milan is that every building is an art piece- the architecture is a sculpture in itself, it’s beautiful. My eyes were never on the ground. I saw many ‘palazzo’s’ which were just nice buildings- but every building was a nice building. I went into the church of San Gregorgio which was smaller, but the thing about churches here is that they are filled with sculptures and artwork, it’s literally a museum.
    After some of that, I walked through two parks- one of which had a water turtle home which was so cute. After more walking, I met up with one of my hostelmates- Blanca (who’s birthday is also October 6th😆) who is an 18 year old girl from a small town in Germany (she said it takes 8 minutes to walk across the whole thing). We had some pizzas and then parted ways. I went to use the toilet next door, just to find that it would not be a toilet…
    After, I went to see the Sforzesco Castle, which honestly, was mostly ugly. After, I headed over to the main attraction, the Duomo Milano Cathedral which was big and beautiful. There were insane sculptures and stained glass images, each of which told stories of rich history. Now, I’m not really Christian, but I could really appreciate the the art and craft of the church. The pictures do not do it justice whatsoever. Fun fact, it took about 600 years to complete. Also- i did my university course registration in the church LOL
    After 8 hours of walking, I felt that it was time to head back to the hostel. I met my new hostelmate- Aleksandra, from Estonia, and three girls from Paris, in the kitchen. Blanca very kindly made me some pasta for dinner, and everyone else was making pasta too (is this a disgrace to Italian food?!). We shared wine, music, and stories until we got kicked out of the common space at 12am. We had the bright idea to continue our antics and try to find a bar, but Milano is a DEAD CITY, and everything closes so early. We went as far as to bus to the lone club that is open til 5, but there is no way that im paying €25🙄🙄. After searching for a motive for about 2 hours we gave up and headed home.
    Read more