Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Florence Day 1

    July 7, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 32 °C

    I was very tired when I woke up this morning but off i go to the train! Today I made sure that I gave myself a good amount of time at the station, and boarded on. Slept thru the whole ride, and arrived around 12:30. I went to the hostel to drop off my bags because I couldn’t go to my room until 3. I went to get some food and again, of course searched “good cheap pasta florence.” Because i actually hadn’t gotten any pasta since being in Italy! I came to this quaint, decorated restaurant for lunch where it was €10 for bread salad, truffle mushroom pasta, a glass of wine, and water. It sucked to be honest. The noodles were thick and kind of hard, more like shanghai noodles. Idk i didn’t really enjoy it. I walked around for a bit but it was sooooo hot. Like 32°C. So I had to hide from the sun, back in the hostel. But I checked the weather app and it’s only getting hotter, like up to 38°C so i better suck it up. Back in the hostel I met one of my roommates, Jin, a 19 year old from South Korea who is headed to the military in September! We bonded over being Asian LOL. After a nap we went to get dinner, where the portion was so small😭. But we were sat next to Abellan, a Spanish man who has been living in Florence for the past 3 months to complete his Master’s! We shared our meal together and had lots of laughs and conversation. Got some good local suggestions as well! Unfortunately he couldn’t stay long because he has to submit his masters thesis (?) on Sunday. We caught a glimpse of the sunset before heading back to the hostel. Later we went to buy some wine but they apparently don’t sell alcohol past 9pm. We had to go to one of those little markets and paid €15 for a bottle…. 🙄😞😭. We met a group of many people downstairs by the pool bar area and headed to a club called Red Garter, which actually was also a recommendation from Abellan! Made some more friends there who were from the States. In the end, the night was something…. IYKYK.Read more