Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Florence Day 2

    July 8, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    After a much needed sleep in, i set out with honestly no plan. But something that I’ve realized is that it’s much better to plan, so that I can accomplish more in the day. Anyways, I followed the big dome thing and found myself at the Duomo Florence Cathedral. And that was crazyy it was huge and beautiful and amazing. Decided to check out this famous sandwich shop- All-Antico Vinaio. It’s like a focaccia sandwich thing with like truffle cream and it was huge! And yummy, although to be honest, it was difficult for me to stomach any food after last night😭 also I accidentally bought sparkling water today instead of still and i was so mad cuz i hate sparkling water. After this, I went to get some gelato and it was soooo good. This and the sandwich shops were both recommended by Ailish, so I trust them. But I got mango and lemon, and something about the mango one was soo smooth in texture, it was delicious. I’m gonna go back tomorrow. I kind of just wandered around for another couple of hours and stumbled upon the Palazzo Vecchio (Florence town hall) and the Loggia dei Lanzi (a gallery of statues!). It was craaaazy and even more so that I wasn’t even looking for it, just found myself there. My favourite is definitely the one holding the ripped off head. After this, I went back to the hostel because my phone was dying, and I was dying of heat. I napped for a little while, and then met Cole, a dude who does business consulting, who I’d met last night in the hostel, and Kira, a biomed-psychology student from Florida (originally, Richmond, Virginia 😆) who typically takes 8 courses a semester- not right now, but shes over in Florence on an exchange semester. We hung out for a bit, drinking wine by the pool bar area and then moved up to the roof terrace which had lovely views! We then decided to go eat dinner at a restaurant that was suggested by two guys we met downstairs and it was yuuummmyy. We went family style and shared a steak, some carbonara, and wild boar pasta. Went to quickly check out the market across the road and called it a night from there.Read more