Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Naples Day 1

    July 11, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    Took the train to Naples today which was a brisk 3 hour journey. To be honestt Naples wasn’t necessarily what I was expecting, although I didn’t know what I expected to begin with? The driving here is insanee and there’s not many crosswalks 😭😭 like the cars will stop for you but it’s still scary. It’s a bit dodgy all around, but I always would make my way around with others. After a sweaty walk to the hostel I met one of my roomies; Emily, who’s in a gap year and just was an au pair in Germany which is coool. We went and explored the city centre. We got some famous pizza to start, which was a simple split marinara and margherita pizza. Around here they don’t even cut the pizzas in slices so u gotta rip em apart. After, we went and looked at the small cute shops, where many were selling little trinkets and handmade dolls. I kept seeing this pepper symbol 🌶️ which i learned is a symbol for good luck around here. We went to go see the coast line which was gross and yucky water. Caught glimpses of some churches and other landmarky things along the way and went back to the hostel.
    Now, at this hostel at 9pm the nana that owns the hostel makes pasta dinner for everyone, and everyone will usually eat around the big table in the garden. Unfortunately, nana made pesto tonight 😭😭😭 so I was left without dinner. But, another person at the dinner table was keen on getting pizza, which was perfect (besides the fact that pizza is the only thing in my system for the day). His name is Janik, and he’s from Switzerland and has been biking around Italy!! Like he biked most of the way from Rome to Naples 😨. Anyways, we ate our pizza and then called it an early night- which I needed because I did not sleep much the night before.
    Read more