Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    Vienna Day 2

    July 25, 2023 in Austria ⋅ 🌧 18 °C

    You know the drill. Start off the day with free breakfast. But after I was stumped a bit, I had planned to have a big walk around the city day, but it was raining!!! But after some online research I came up with the perfect idea- museum day!!!! I love art museums so it was perfect. I went to the Albertina Museum which is like a palace and an art museum! I spent like 3 hours here LOL but there was just so much to see! There were 3 art exhibitions and then also the palace-y area. So obviously I went to look at all of them. The first was about a performance artist who created art that revolved around feminism, perspective, and other artsy stuff haha. The second exhibition was about allegory and historic reference in more scholarly art from the past. And the last exhibition was a whole collection that included some paintings from Degas, Monet, and Picasso! And then lastly was the Albertina Palace section which was very very opulent. The walls were decorated with silk, the finest marble, grand chandeliers. It was crazy to think that a family used to live here! After, I went to Bitzinger which was a little stand right outside of the museum. I got this cheese sausage thing which was pretty mid, but not bad. At this point the rain had stopped, so I walked around the main city- which is quite large! And very beautiful. The architecture here go craaaazy, the buildings are all so beautiful. I walked through a park which had a very sad canal….. After that, I had signed up for a walking tour so I went to meet the group by the Opera house. The walking tour was nice, the guide offered a lot of knowledge on the history of different landmarks and things around the area. We saw lots of sights, and learned lots of things. Something that she mentioned was that there’s an open air film festival that’s currently happening. So after the tour, I went with two girls- Marieke from Holland and Maddie from Australia, to the film festival! There were lots of food and drink stands- I got a very overpriced pork schnitzel, and we ate our food. We watched the film which was like an ice skating dance fairytale kinda thing? The plot was not very linear and I was quite confused. There were english subtitles though which was nice, but I was just lost at where the story was going 😭😭. We didn’t stay for the whole film, and I went off back to the hostel.Read more