Satellite
Mostra sulla mappa
  • Giorno 36

    Vienna Day 1- Salzburg

    24 luglio 2023, Austria ⋅ ☁️ 27 °C

    Touched down in Vienna very sleepy at about 6:30am 😭😭 i went to my hostel to drop off my bags, but luckily my room was actually ready! So i could just go in and put my stuff away there. Surprisingly, my hostelmate was awake already- because it was too hot to sleep, so we talked a bit and then went to get the free breakfast. I’m like 99% sure that the hostels that I’ve booked for the past 3 places are a chain so all of the breakfast is pretty much the same- bread, meat, cheese, yogurt, cereal. And i’m not complaining! We shared breakfast together and she went to try and sleep again. I decided that since my train pass was still active for today, that I would take advantage of that and go take a day trip to Salzburg, where the Sound of Music takes place! The trip didn’t start off too great. I was still exhausted from the lack of sleep the night before, and I couldn’t get a seat on the train for the first half hour so I sat on the floor 😭😭😭. Don’t come at me, I was really tired. Luckily I got a seat after some people got off after the first stop. I arrived in Salzburg around noon and started walking. This is technically the first place I’ve gotten to see in Austria, and wow, is it gorgeous! The buildings are so ornate, the mountains are lovely, the views are spectacular! I walked by Mozart’s house, didn’t go in because I wasn’t that interested. I walked across some bridges, and I sat by the water eating my lunch (a chicken burger lol). After, I walked by the church which was pretty from the outside! Then I went up to the Hohensalzburg Fortress, which sits at the top of Salzburg. I went mostly just for the views, which I think speak for itself. But, since I paid I thought that I might as well see the other things. I learned about the history of Salzburg- didn’t retain a lot but the salt trade was big around there. There was also a little puppet room which was cute. After, I walked down and wandered for a bit around the Altstadt area, which is mostly just shopping. Then suddenly, a rain and thunderstorm began! Luckily I got to the train station before it got really intense. Took a sleepy eepy train back to Vienna. Then I went to the mall to get sushi for dinner- I caved. I’ve been craving it so much, and although the quality is definitely not the same as Vancouver, it will do for now. I called Kseniya ❤️ and GOODNIGHTLeggi altro