Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 51

    Amsterdam Day 3

    August 8, 2023 in the Netherlands ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    Today was super awesome! I woke up and went to this coffee and vinyl shop called Black and Gold, which was recommended to me by that receptionist in The Hague. It was the cutest and coolest shop! The vibe was so cool and the worker was so cool too! I just got an oolong tea and read the Korean Contemporary Art book that laid on the bookshelf and sat in the little nook and drank my tea. I chatted with a couple who was from Edmonton! And they gave me some recommendations for London. I talked with the barista as well who told me about more things to do in Amsterdam, and Rotterdam which was my next stop.

    After, I went to meet Matty and Camille who are 2 girls that I know from Vancouver, that happened to be in Amsterdam on a day trip! I met them at the Rijksmuseum, but the line was too long to go in. So, we looked and walked around some vintage shops and then we went to our boat reservation! We drove the boat down the canal, more in the less touristy area so it was less cramped on the canals. It was soo nice, although the weather wasn’t necessarily the best. However, of course, at the very end, a plastic bag got caught on the propeller, so then our boat got stuck! And we were literally like 2 minutes away from the port. But luckily, Matty and Camille’s friend was able to call the boat service to come and help us and we made it back to shore! After that, we checked out some more vintage stores, and then grabbed some Lebanese wraps for dinner and they headed back to Germany, which is where they were staying.

    After this, I just walked all around the city til it got dark, got another stroopwafel of course, and then headed back to the hostel. I then met some girls from my hostel to go to Techno Tuesday! I honestly don’t like techno music LOL, but I felt like i haaaaad to go of course!

    I really enjoy Amsterdam. Something about it seems so liveable- I could see myself moving here or doing an exchange here or something. Besides the weather which has only been rainy, I like it here. Everyone moves at a slower pace, everyone just seems so chill, but also friendly! And also it’s so beautiful!
    Read more