Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 50

    Amsterdam Day 2

    August 7, 2023 in the Netherlands ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    I took it slow this morning, and started the day off with some thrifting. I still felt like I didn’t have enough “warm” clothes so I was on the hunt for some. I walked to a thrift store that was 20 mins away and left with a new pair of jeans, a longsleeve, and JORTS (which I’ve been on the hunt for!) I was very happy. I dropped my clothes off back at my hostel and took the metro to the Albert Cuyp Market which had lots of different stands. I went to get some Dutch pancakes, which are just little pancakes, but they were cute. I went for lemon and powdered sugar. After that, I went to a bead store where I got some really cute charms and some earring thingies so that I can make some earrings! I went to a nearby park for a little bit, but not long. I met up with my other hostelmate, Benita who is from Australia! And we went back to the market to get some more food and look around. We had this like potato, feta, spinach crêpe, some fries with picalilly (which is like a pickle-mustard sauce?), and some more stroopwafels of course. We also went to a vintage store where I bought a really cool belt! After, we wandered around and looked at lots of the super cute house boats, many of which had luscious gardens and plants. After, she had to go to a boat tour, so I continued to wander around. I walked across many canals, and just took the rest of my day at a leisurely pace which was so nice. I went to look at this movie theatre which was designed in an art nouveau style which was cool- didn’t watch a movie but I just wanted to check out the inside. After I went to a restaurant called Waterkant, which was a recommendation for Surinamese food. But they didn’t have sandwiches at that time which made me sad, but I got this korean-glazed cauliaflower which was quite delicious, I wished it was friend chicken. I was still hungry after so I still went to find a Surinamese sandwich at another restaurant. Just to find out that they also don’t have sandwiches at that time (which was really, really disappointing), so I settled for some noodles. After that, I headed to the central station to take a tram back to my hostel.Read more