Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 57

    Edinburgh Day 1

    August 14, 2023 in Scotland ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    So I arrived in Edinburgh at the crisp time of 8am with 7% on my phone and a sore bum from sitting in a bus seat for 8 hours. I walked to my hostel which is right across from the Edinburgh castle, and is super central. My immediate impressions of Edinburgh are…. CUTE! It’s soo Old Towny- I guess I am staying in the Old Town so that makes sense. But the buildings are all adorable- I wish I took more pictures. But anyways, the first thing I did was just sit in the lounge and charge my phone. I didn’t know that the outlets here were different. I also don’t know how my phone was charging because I stuck my European charger in the UK charger hole in a funky way and it worked. But that isn’t super important. Once I have enough charge, I go to the luggage room where I meet Ryan who invites me on an impromptu hike on Arthur’s Seat in 10 minutes, which is a hill that I was interested in seeing anyways. I mean, why not? So I met him outside and he brought along a fella named Caimen who, even though he was 32 years old gay man- which is quite the opposite of who i am- he ended up being my closest friend for the trip. Ryan is such a character… when we were walking to the hill he’s like “wait… i’m gonna put my mask on.” And i thought he meant like covid mask, but he pulls out this cat mask and it’s actually the funniest thing ever idk how else to explain it.
    So we climb the hill and it’s quite gorgeous, the photo’s won’t do it justice. We meet some people on the hill that are also actually staying at the same hostel, and we do part of the walk with them and hang out at the top with them. After heading down, we get some soft serve ice cream, and then hit the grocery store to get some food. I decide that it’s high time to cook and grab a few ingredients to make some pasta. We head back to the hostel to do exactly that, and we meet many of the workers who were super nice and chill. I go to take a nap, and then I do a bit of wandering around on my own in the town. I come back to eat more of my pasta before it’s time for the pub quiz that’s hosted by the hostel! We go to a pub called The Tron and I meet Nik and David, and some others who were on my team. We didn’t quite win, and I felt like I personally had a generational disadvantage but we had fun doing it anyways. After, there was a comedy show in the basement, because right now in Edinburgh is this month long event called The Fringe which hosts literally thousands of shows, there’s gotta be a hundred everyday across the entire city. So yeah, there was a stand up show and it was actually hilarioussss and I’ve never been to a comedy show before! After the show, Nik, David, and I leave in search of a new venue to go to since we’ve been at this same pub for a while now. We later found ourselves at a live music pub which was cute.
    Read more