Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 58

    Edinburgh Day 2

    August 15, 2023 in Scotland ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Today I went to grab breakfast with Nik and David and I just got a little cinnamon bun. You know, again, when people said the UK is expensive (deja vu from Switzerland), I didn’t think it would be true but it’s ‘spenny’ as hellll! Like everything is literally double the price as back at home, it’s kinda crazy. But I try to put my mind aside from that fact cuz I’m on vacation anyways! After the cinnamon bun, we walked over to Calton Hill which is much smaller compared to Arthur’s Seat. The view was still very nice though, and there were some monument thingies at the top! We hung around there for a while, and then took a very very lengthy walk down towards Leith which is kind of like the seaside area of Edinburgh. The streets were lined with lots of cute shops, café’s, and restaurants. We walked along the shoreline for a while until we found the beach, which was a bit of a sad beach, but was still water! Interestingly, a lot of that area was quite industrial, which was very different than the old town part of Edinburgh that I’d been used to seeing. After that, we took a bus back to the old town, and went to grab some lunch at a japanese restaurant. I got japanese curry because suddenly im obsessed with the dish. It was delicious. Then, we went back to the hostel to rest up for a bit. I went to meet Caimen and Ryan in the lounge for a little while. After, me, Caimen, and Nik went to go watch the highly acclaimed Fringe show “A Young Man Dressed As A Gorilla Dressed As An Old Man Sits Rocking In A Rocking Chair For Fifty-Six Minutes And Then Leaves… 14” that we’d heard about when talking to one of the hostel workers in the kitchen. It only happens once every 2 years. This honestly was the beating heart of the Edinburgh trip, and became what I was most excited for ever since I’d heard about it. It was just so mysterious. We’d got there and the line was long, we came 15 minutes early too! But unfortunately we didn’t make the cut, only about a quarter of the line made it in. I was devastated. But I couldn’t let that bring me down. We went to an Irish pub to watch an Irish comedy show instead which was good. Then we went back to the hostel where I ate some more of my spaghetti and we had some pre’s before going out to another another comedy show with our little group. We bravely sat in the very front row this time which is so intimidating because they’ll always pick on you in the front. We went to a bar and then a club and then the night ended with nachos. What a way to end Edinburgh!Read more