Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 64

    Paris Day 1

    August 21, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    Another crazy day!! I met up with Natascha in the morning, who is a girl that I work with back at home at Kokoro! She’s been in Paris with family for the past month, so I trusted her as my tour guide! I met her right by the Eiffel Tower and wow, she’s beautiful!!! I kept saying that it literally looked fake to me I don’t know why, it was so crazy. But yeah, so today Natascha took me on a large tour of all of the big things essentially, so first we walked by the Arc de Triomphe. After that we were a little hungry, so we walked along the famous Champ-Elysées and stopped by in a bakery to get some sweet treats. Then, we went to a little sandwich shop that had a character of an owner who was hilarious and so kind. After that, we walked through the Jardin des Tuileries which was big and beautiful. That took up to the Louvre, which we didn’t go in. I had decided that I wanted to go the next day, but of course, the ONLY day of the week that the Louvre is closed is Tuesdays!!! So I guess I’ll just have to come back to Paris 🙄. We walked and walked and it was HOT! It was nice to have some warm weather after it had been super cold for the last little bit of my trip! We walked by the Notre Dame, which is still closed for construction after the fire from a couple of years ago. We grabbed some ice cream and sat and ate it by the Seine. We stopped and saw a cool church, and awed at the architecture that was all around Paris! We stopped by the Pantheon 🏛️ and then went to sit in the Jardin du Luxembourg and relax for a little while- we’d been walking for a long time at this point. More walking, and another church later, we went to get a crêpe. It was crazy, the street that we found a crêpe restaurant actually had 11 other crêpe restaurants on the same street! Some crazy competition. I got a simple lemon and sugar crêpe. We walked back through the Jardin du Luxembourg and went to the supermarket to grab some sandwiches for dinner. After that, we journeyed over to the Sacre Cœur, which is a church that sits alot a hill. We went for the sunset (where you mostly see the sky on the other side of the sunset) and it was stunning. You saw pretty much the whole view of Paris (minus the Eiffel Tower) and it was beautiful. We looked inside the church as well which was cool. After, we walked around that area which had a lot of caricature and portrait artists at work which was cool to see. We walked down to catch a glimpse of the outside of Moulin Rouge, and then I headed back to my hostel for the night!!Read more