Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 63

    London Day 4

    August 20, 2023 in England ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    Soo I texted Julia to hang out again today because it really broke my heart to think that I’d never see her again!! So I had planned to do a bunch of touristy London things which is funny bc she’s a local. So we went early to Buckingham Palace to watch the changing of the guards or something. But I was so confused because it was actually SOOOO busy and packed but I didn’t see the guards change anywhere. I saw the dudes in the big black fluffy hats parade and play music but that’s kind of it. We were trying to look for the ceremony but it was just so busy everywhere, that I couldn’t even tell where it was happening. So we gave up after a while, and decided to just sit and chat in the park. We talked about the cute animals that roamed the park 😇. Then we walked around and saw Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, and then walked along the other side of South Bank for a bit. We grabbed some hoisin duck wraps from Pret-a-Manger and then took the metro to Brick Lane. Our time here was short, but I was wanting to meet up and see Benita- one of my roommates and friends from Amsterdam. We just went into the vintage market area of Brick Lane because that’s all I had time for :( the area was super cool and had like graffiti and stuff. After, me and Julia headed back to the metro, where I had to say yet another very sad and very tearful goodbye. It’s the same thing, where I really don’t know when I’ll see her again :( and that’s what makes this so difficult. But, I’m no stranger to goodbyes at this point.
    And so, on to the last chapter of my trip- PARIS!! I hopped on the Eurostar and made my way to the city of love. Slept through the whole ride, and made it at night. I went to grab some asian food for dinner and then metro’d over to my hostel. Embarrassingly, I bought only a zone 1 ticket, but I needed 2 zones because I didn’t realize that my hostel is just outside of the city of Paris. So then the gate wouldn’t open to let me exit, and I was like trying to crawl under the gate, but I was actually stuck because I had my huge backpack on. And it was just a really embarrassing picture, if you can picture it 😅😅😅 but someone helped me open the gate and get through🤣
    Read more