Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    The skies spoke to me

    July 25, 2023 in Italy ⋅ 🌧 59 °F

    The fourth day at the Garni Hotel Melissa began with a thunderstorm reminiscent of the ones I experienced in western North Carolina.
    With it came a cloudburst, I referred to my weather app and it suggested that the storm may last most of the day.
    My plan was to head southwest down the valley to Fie Allo Sciliar (an emphatic ‘hello Sciliar’) the town is underneath the Sciliar the emblem of the South Tyrol. Once there, I would hike up to a lake referred to as Laghetto Fie and beyond to what my map shows as a ‘wood cross fit’ feature.
    This intrigued Boxer…what he found was an outdoor gym constructed with materials available in the forested meadow (save some of the metal posts.)
    Boxer was fully prepared to find a group of people working out.
    Not so…maybe it was the remoteness, but this amazing outdoor gymnasium was designed for children to young adults.
    After lunching on a bench across the meadow I left for Laghetto Fie and walked back to Suisi to catch a bus back to Castelrotto.
    Steph and Peter met me at the garni just in time for the three of us to walk into Castelrotto for dinner at a restaurant known for its pizza. It was a good place to relax and reflect on our day in the Alpi di Suisi.
    It was a melancholy day for Boxer…on his walk to the forested gym he reflected on how much he missed his older brother Michael, who passed twelve weeks ago and his sister Ellen, a year and a half ago. The skies were shedding tears as well…
    Read more