Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Sintra

    September 23, 2022 in Portugal ⋅ ⛅ 72 °F

    September 2022-Portugal & Spain

    Day 1/2-travel to Sintra, Portugal

    It has been a 3 year hiatus, but we are finally back on vacation with our favorite vacation couple Matt & Margaret! After sadly canceling Machu Pichu in 2020 and then surviving the Covid vacation drought, I am not sure I even let myself count my chickens until today. Almost prematurely hatched, I watched our planned long layover slowly melt away with first bad weather and then a bad plane. Taxiing back to the gate, my heart sank as they said they were looking for another plane. Fearing my vacation karma had Covid, my hope returned as they announced they “found one in the hangar.” After dusting off a few cobwebs, we were off and even had a half an hour to spare!

    Loving the 11 pm board time, we slept the majority of the flight and arrived at 6 am our time feeling halfway human. A short drive to Sintra from Lisbon and I declared we were officially on vacation. After lunch at “Gangnam style,” we were able to check into our Airbnb for the next 3 days. Having a hard time peeling Matt from his porch siesta, we promised a quick 1 mile walk to just one of the many beautiful castles in this picturesque town. A wrong turn at the park, however, had Margaret hugging trees and us trekking UP another mile to the Moorish and Peña Palace instead-one of many “happy accidents” I’m sure! Castelo dos Mouros was originally built in the 8th century and positioned at a high vantage point to provide protection over Sintra. The castle fought off many would-be invasions, but fell to the Christian crusade in 1147. Forgotten for many years in favor of Lisbon, the castle fell into ruins until later restored by King Ferdinand II who had a passion for the arts and middle ages. Today, the remaining wall provides picture perfect views from the Atlantic to Lisbon and the infamous Peña Palace. Hoofing over to the palace next, we arrived just past the last admission and I was unable to sweet talk the gate guards. Thom suggested storming the castle, but I’m pretty sure if I can’t open a spaghetti jar without him, I probably don’t have the strength. For now, I will have to be satisfied with the remote glimpses of King Ferdinand’scolorful summer palace. More than expected for the day, we earned our kebabs and hot showers before collapsing into our beds for some much needed jet lag sleep!
    Read more